Cupid and Psyche: The parts of the story that speak for my heart

………………

Cupid whispered, “You have been very brave, my love. Making your night journey to the mountain. Sending the others away. Then letting Zephyr bring you here. Your soul is as beautiful as your face. I shall love you forever, dear wife.”

Psyche had been praised by thousands of men in thousands of ways. But she had never heard such sweet words. “This must be love,” she thought to herself. She tightened her arms round her husband.

………………

Psyche felt her life was almost perfect. Just one thing bothered her. So one night she broached her concern.

“Dear husband, I only see you at night,” she said. “And then I don’t see you at all really. Is there some reason you wish to remain hidden?”

“Aren’t the emotions you feel better than what you might see, dear wife? came his reply. “Believe me, your heart is much more reliable than your eyes. And twice as honest. Weren’t there times when you wished you could cover yourself? Just to see if people loved you for yourself, not your beauty?”

Psyche was not surprised Cupid knew her deepest wishes. It seemed they spoke, acted, and even dreamed as one.

Cupid continued, “Would you want me to adore you only for your beauty? Because I confess, dear Psyche, I first was attracted by your loveliness. But now after knowing you, I realize how much more I love you for your spirit.”

“I would rather have your respect than ten thousand compliments about my face,” Psyche admitted.

“Well, you understand then. I also do not wish to be judged by my appearance. No, judge me by my actions and your own heart.”

………………

As the flame wavered In her shaking hand, Psyche tiptoed back to the bed. She shone the light on her husband’s face and gave a gasp.

There was a god sleeping in her bed! And a bow and quiver rested on the floor!

Cupid was her husband? Cupid, the god of love?

Psyche breathed a sigh of relief. Then she leaned closer for another look. His beauty took her breath away. His face was so youthful, so strong, so handsome! Shining golden hair ringed his face. And a pair of pure white wings were folded behind his shoulders.

But Psyche had leaned too close. Before she could catch it, the candle tipped in her hand. A large drop of hot wax fell onto Cupid’s shoulder.

Cupid awoke with a start and looked straight into Psyche’s eyes. It was as if he were reading her mind. Then in a flash, he had seized the candle and blown it out. Next moment he was out of bed and on his feet.

Psyche reached out to hold him. But he pushed her away and lifted into the air.

“No! Please, dear husband! Don’t leave me!” Psyche cried.

Cupid’s voice came from the window ledge. “Did I have to be beautiful for you to love me, dear wife?”

“No!” Psyche shouted. “I loved you before!”

“No, Psyche. If you had truly loved me, you wouldn’t have had to see my face. You would have trusted your heart.”

With that, Cupid flew out the window into the night air. Psyche ran into the courtyard after him. She tried to follow the sound of his voice.

True beauty lies in the heart. That is why I loved you, Psyche. Your heart was beautiful. But it had grown ugly from fear and doubt. And love cannot live where the heart does not trust. Farewell.”

………………

After the young wife was bathed and freshly dressed, she was ushered to Jupiter’s throne. With the eye of a true lover of beauty, Jupiter looked her up and down.

Finally he said, “Your husband has told me of your bravery. You have the form to match your soul, my dear. Such beauty must not be allowed to fade.” He gestured and a god brought forward a cup of nectar.

“Drink that, Psyche. Drink it and become immortal, like your husband. For there is an invisible cord which ties your hearts together. May it remain unbroken to the end of time!”

With those words, the wedding feasting began. All the gods came-even Venus. Selfish and jealous as she was, the goddess knew when to give in. After all, no one can defeat the most powerful force in the universe: Love.

 

Source: Retold Classic Myth Volume 1, The Perfection Form Company 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kchornyhoney
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 01:28:13

    nice ..kind of the way i …well you know how i feel about you…always wanted you to judge me by my heart..my deeds…not just my words…is sad how much people get hung up on things that mean so little..and miss the bigger pic…like you..they only see you are deaf..never just how wonderful you are..but then i never thought of you as deaf..

    Reply

Leave a comment